Skip to content Skip to navigation

ACI-SMU Financial Markets Certificate (IBF Level 1)


Candidates will be assessed on the following competency units in Financial Markets (IBF Level 1).

ACI-SMU Financial Markets Certificate – Module 1: Building Blocks (IBF Level 1)
CU3: Financial Markets Overview
CU4: Financial Markets Products Overview
CU11: Technology Innovation as an Enabler in Financial Markets

ACI-SMU Financial Markets Certificate – Module 2: Trading and Treasury Sales (IBF Level 1)

CU1: Industry Knowledge: Laws and Regulations (FMRP)
CU2: Industry Knowledge: Ethics and Conduct (FMRP)

CU5: Product Pricing & Valuation
CU6: Risk Management
CU7: Primary & Secondary Market Offerings
CU8: Client Sales, On-Boarding & Servicing
CU9: Trade Completion & Post Trade Activities
CU10: Asset Liability Management

Format of Assessment

Candidates will be assessed through written tests in the form of multiple choice questions. 

* Please note that Financial Markets Regulatory Practice Examination (FMRP) is administred by The Institute of Banking and Finance (IBF). Separate fees are levied by IBF for FMRP (CU1&2)


Candidates who are unsuccessful on their first attempt may apply for a re-assessment. Separate assessment fee applies.


If you are not satisfied with your assessment results, you may request that your results be re-tabulated.

The review would only involve checking through the answer scripts to ensure that there were no mistakes in the calculation of marks.

Please note that the decision on your appeal is final. You will not be permitted to re-appeal against the outcome.

Request for re-tabulation must be made in writing within 5 days from the date of release of results. Administrative fee applies for each paper reviewed.

Terms and Conditions

SMU Academy | Financial Services reserves the right to make changes to assessment dates if necessary or due to circumstances beyond our control.


Participants will take a written assessment at the end of each module. Candidates who pass all assessments, including the Financial Markets Regulatory Practice (FMRP) examination (CU1 & CU2) administered by IBF, will be awarded the ACI-SMU Financial Markets Certificate (IBF Level1), and be conferred the IBF Qualified (IBFQ) certification status.

Participants who attained the ACI-SMU Financial Markets Certificate between the period of 2010 – 2016, who seek to achieve IBFQ certification, may enroll directly to Module 2. Participants must pass all assessments, including a direct assessment for CU11 and he FMRP for CU1&2, to be IBF Certified.

A financial practitioner with IBFQ certification is equipped with broad-based capabilities and foundational competencies to undertake new roles. 

Find out more about IBF Certification and its benefits at:

Last updated on 18 Jun 2018 .