Skip to content Skip to navigation

SMU Executive Certificate in Commercial Banking (IBF Level 1)


Candidates will be assessed on the following competency units in Corporate Banking: Relationship Management/Credit Analysis and Approval/Transactional Services (IBF Level 1)

Module 1: SMU Certificate: Credit Evaluation & Management (IBF Leve 1)
CU1. Industry Product Knowledge and Awareness (CBCE^)
CU2. Industry Laws and Regulations Knowledge and Awareness (CBBE^)
CU4. Credit Risks Analysis and Monitoring

Module 2: SMU Certificate: Structuring Credit Facilities (IBF Level 1)
CU3. Client Acquisition
CU5. Credit Facilities and Structure Assessment
CU6. Client Management

Format of Assessment

Candidates will be assessed through written tests in the form of multiple choice questions, short questions and/or case studies.

* Please note that Corporate Banking Common Examination (CBCE) assessment is administered by The Institute of Banking and Finance (IBF). Separate fees are levied by IBF for CBCE (CU1&2). 


Candidates who are unsuccessful on their first attempt may apply for a re-assessment. Separate assessment fee applies.


If you are not satisfied with your assessment results, you may request that your results be re-tabulated.

The review would only involve checking through the answer scripts to ensure that there were no mistakes in the calculation of marks.

Please note that the decision on your appeal is final. You will not be permitted to re-appeal against the outcome.

Request for re-tabulation must be made in writing within 5 days from the date of release of results. Administrative fee applies for each paper reviewed.

Terms and Conditions

SMU Academy | Financial Services reserves the right to make changes to assessment dates if necessary or due to circumstances beyond our control.


Participants will take a written assessment at the end of each module. Candidates who pass all assessments, including the Corporate Banking Common Examination (CBCE) administered by IBF, will be awarded the SMU Executive Certificate in Commercial Banking (IBF Level 1) and be conferred the IBF Qualified (IBFQ) certification status.

A financial practitioner with IBFQ certification is equipped with broad-based capabilities and foundational competencies to undertake new roles.  

Find out more about IBF Certification and its benefits at:

Last updated on 04 Apr 2018 .